QTS-124 · Transport strategy · 2026Draft
Queenstown Strategic Network Plan – Emerging Direction (Otago Regional Council Briefing, 15 July 2026)
Part of: Rapid transit evidence →
A ten-slide NZTA (Waka Kotahi) briefing to Otago Regional Council on 15 July 2026, presenting the emerging direction of the Queenstown Strategic Network Plan (QSNP). The plan sets a 30-year strategy for Queenstown's strategic network; it is 'not an investment plan', and no funding, planning or delivery decisions were sought (pp2-3). It describes extreme pressure on the network: 84% traffic growth at SH6/SH6A since 2012; peak travel times on SH6A over 80 minutes, about ten times free flow; and 2055 demand forecast at 250-300% of bridge capacity (p4). Of the strategic approaches tested, 'Balanced multi-modal' is preferred; road-led expansion and do nothing are ruled out. Optimisation, bus-focused variants and an 'Offline PT spine' are treated as enabling layers. High-capacity ferries, a Queenstown Hill back road, SH6A tunnelling or double-decking, and the Malaghans Road alternative were not taken forward (p5). For Frankton to Town Centre the response is short-term bus, access and safety improvements, with 'offline PT as the viable capacity option' in the long term (p7). Thirteen interventions are sequenced in three stages. Frankton-Queenstown and Frankton-Ladies Mile offline PT and a new Kawarau crossing fall in Stage 3, 'when triggered', with projects 'in the high hundreds of millions' (pp8-9). Next steps include advancing investigations of offline PT (p10). Published by ORC on its public event page.
What the document says
Context and purpose. This is NZTA (Waka Kotahi)'s 'Queenstown Strategic Network Plan – Emerging Direction', presented as an Otago Regional Council briefing on 15 July 2026. The slides are marked 'In confidence' (p1). Published by ORC on its public event page. The partner briefing aimed to share initial findings and test alignment. 'No funding, planning or delivery decisions' were sought; the aim was 'partner confidence and comfort' (p2). The QSNP gives a 30-year direction for the Queenstown strategic network, identifies major gaps, trade-offs and sequencing choices, and frames a whole-of-system response. It is 'not an investment plan' (p3). Inputs include Arataki, the Ministry of Transport Outcomes Framework, the One Network Framework, the Spatial Plan, masterplans and network performance. Outputs include business cases, NLTP and State Highway Investment Plan inputs, a monitoring plan, and triggers and dependencies (p3).
The challenge (p4):
- 84% growth in traffic at SH6/SH6A since 2012.
- Peak travel time on SH6A over 80 minutes, around ten times free flow.
- SH6A carrying 23,000 vehicles a day.
- Over 85% of capacity used for up to 6.5 hours a day in 2025.
- 2055 demand forecast at 2.5 times capacity at Shotover Bridge and 2.6 times at Kawarau Falls Bridge (250-300% overall).
- The only alternative route to SH6A crosses a single-lane bridge.
Options tested (p5). Do nothing and road-led expansion are ruled out. 'Optimise existing', 'Bus-focused variants' and 'Offline PT spine' (described as a 'Step-change in capacity') are classed as enabling layers. 'Balanced multi-modal' is preferred as the 'Best strategic fit and delivery pathway'. The deck says it adds people-moving capacity where road widening can't and can be staged, 'no-regrets first, bigger moves as funding and deliverability allows'. Specific projects not taken forward are a Queenstown Hill back road, SH6A tunnelling or double-decking, high-capacity ferries ('limited catchment, niche role') and a Malaghans Road alternative route.
Preferred approach (pp6-7). It rests on three pillars: best use of infrastructure; moving more people in less space (bus services, higher-capacity PT vehicles, interchanges); and active demand management (TDM, parking, land-use integration). Implementation covers the timing and sequencing of step-change improvements: 'Larger interventions where triggers are met, pending funding availability', including offline public transport, an additional road bridge to the southern corridor and protection of corridors for future high-capacity transit. It also calls for innovative funding: beneficiary shares, Infrastructure Funding and Financing, private investment partnering, and targeted visitor and growth levies (p6). Two strategic corridors are defined (p7):
- Corridor 1, Frankton to Town Centre: topography, property and congestion limit road capacity; short-term bus, access and safety improvements; 'Long term: offline PT as the viable capacity option'.
- Corridor 2, Jack's Point to Arrow Junction: staged bus improvements, then offline PT when bus capacity is exceeded, with a potential southern river crossing.
Sequencing (pp8-9). Thirteen numbered interventions plus Arthurs Point bridge (local road) and network-wide activities are mapped (p8).
- Stage 1, 'No-regret foundation', 2027-2033 over the next two NLTPs: Frankton Flats, key intersections, bus priority, PT services, active modes and TDM, at a sustained tens to low hundreds of millions, maintaining 2024-27 investment scale.
- Stage 2, 'Incremental capacity', 2030s: bus priority into growth areas, interchanges, park and ride, signals and time-of-use charging.
- Stage 3, 'Long-term transformation', 'when triggered | protect now': 'Projects in the high hundreds of millions', with the new Kawarau crossing and offline PT. The deck says to 'Protect corridors; advance business cases and explore funding / financing options'.
The deck states that the 'scale of the challenge warrants earlier intervention, but affordability and deliverability constraints necessitate a staged pathway'. If worse transport performance reduced visitor growth by 0.5%, the estimated impact is about $3.9b NPV in lost GDP and tax revenue over 40 years (p9).
Next steps (p10):
- Seek inclusion of the first tranche in the 2027-2030 RLTP and NLTP.
- Advance investigations for Ladies Mile, Southern Corridor, offline PT and time-of-use charging.
- Agree partner leads, funding shares and delivery through Way to Go, the RLTP and the Regional Deal.
- Monitor and refresh.
Mass rapid transit: The deck treats offline public transport as the long-term capacity answer between Frankton and the Town Centre: 'Long term: offline PT as the viable capacity option' (p7). Frankton-Queenstown offline PT (item 10) and Frankton-Ladies Mile offline PT (item 11) are listed, and the Kawarau crossing could be road or offline PT (item 12) (p8). All three are in Stage 3, 'when triggered', in the 'high hundreds of millions', with no date (p9). Corridor protection and investigations are proposed now (pp6, 9-10). No technology is named; mass rapid transit and mass rapid transit do not appear.
Key figures
- 84% growth in traffic at SH6/SH6A since 2012 (p4)
- >80 min peak travel time on SH6A, around 10x free flow (p4)
- >85% capacity for up to 6.5 hours/day in 2025 (p4)
- SH6A 23,000 vehicles/day (p4)
- Shotover Bridge demand 2.5x capacity and Kawarau Falls Bridge 2.6x capacity in 2055; 250-300% travel demand vs bridge capacity by 2055 (p4)
- Stage 1 (2027-2033): sustained programme in the tens to low hundreds of millions (p9)
- Stage 3: projects in the high hundreds of millions (p9)
- 0.5% reduction in visitor growth estimated to cost around $3.9b NPV in lost GDP and tax revenue over 40 years (p9)
Rapid transit
Mass rapid transit means light rail, gondola/cable car, bus rapid transit and similar dedicated rapid-transit technologies. It does not include ordinary bus services or ferries.
Substantive. Discusses, assesses, recommends or programmes mass rapid transit.
Offline PT is the 'viable capacity option' long term for Frankton-Town Centre, placed in Stage 3 'when triggered'; technology unspecified.
Offline public transport is central to the long-term direction. Among the strategic approaches, an 'Offline PT spine' is an 'Enabling layer' giving a 'Step-change in capacity' within the preferred 'Balanced multi-modal' approach (p5). For Corridor 1, Frankton to Town Centre, the constraint is that 'Topography, property and congestion limit road capacity'. The response is short-term bus, access and safety improvements and 'Long term: offline PT as the viable capacity option' (p7). High-capacity PT is described as 'Bus priority first, then offline PT as demand grows, with future extension to Ladies Mile and the Southern Corridor' (p7). The sequencing map lists '10 Frankton-Queenstown offline public transport', '11 Frankton-Ladies Mile offline public transport' and '12 New Kawarau River crossing (road or offline PT)', all in 'Stage 3 - Long-term transformation: Offline high-capacity PT, river crossing when triggered and deliverable' (p8). Stage 3 is timed 'When triggered | protect now', comprises 'Projects in the high hundreds of millions', and calls to 'Protect corridors; advance business cases and explore funding / financing options' (p9). The next steps include to 'Advance investigations for Ladies Mile, Southern Corridor, offline PT and time-of-use' (p10). The deck names no technology, alignment, stop locations or trigger values. Mass rapid transit and mass rapid transit do not appear.
"1. Frankton to Town Centre / Topography, property and congestion limit road capacity. / Short term: bus, access and safety improvements. Long term: offline PT as the viable capacity option." (p.7) | "Bus priority first, then offline PT as demand grows, with future extension to Ladies Mile and the Southern Corridor." (p.7) | "Offline PT spine / Enabling layer / Step-change in capacity" (p.5) | "Stage 3 — Long-term transformation Offline high-capacity PT, river crossing when triggered and deliverable." (p.8) | "Projects in the high hundreds of millions. Protect corridors; advance business cases and explore funding / financing options. New Kawarau river crossing and offline PT." (p.9) | "Advance investigations for Ladies Mile, Southern Corridor, offline PT and time-of-use." (p.10)
Files
- Open Main document (PDF, 975 KB) Opens in a new tab.
Main document
Public copies
Actions recorded
Frankton Flats bus priority and active mode upgrades.
Not assessed · NZTA · Stage 1 - No-regret foundation (2027-2033)
1 Frankton Flats bus priority and active mode upgrades
Frankton Flats intersection and capacity upgrades.
Not assessed · NZTA · Stage 1 - No-regret foundation (2027-2033)
2 Frankton Flats intersection and capacity upgrades
Ladies Mile intersection upgrades.
Not assessed · NZTA · Not stated (map item)
3 Ladies Mile intersection upgrades
Ladies Mile bus priority and active mode upgrades.
Not assessed · NZTA · Not stated (map item)
4 Ladies Mile bus priority and active mode upgrades
Southern Corridor intersection upgrades and bus priority.
Not assessed · NZTA · Not stated (map item)
5 Southern Corridor intersection upgrades & bus priority
SH6A active mode and bus stop upgrades.
Not assessed · NZTA · Not stated (map item)
6 SH6A active mode and bus stop upgrades
Queenstown Town Centre bus hub improvements.
Not assessed · Not stated (map item)
7 Queenstown Town Centre bus hub improvements
Park and ride facilities (site TBC).
Not assessed · Stage 2 - Incremental capacity (2030s)
8 Park and ride facilities (site TBC)
Show all 22 actions
SH6A intersection upgrades.
Not assessed · NZTA · Not stated (map item)
9 SH6A intersection upgrades
Frankton-Queenstown offline public transport.
Not assessed · Stage 3 - Long-term transformation (when triggered; protect now) · Relevant to rapid transit
10 Frankton-Queenstown offline public transport
Frankton-Ladies Mile offline public transport.
Not assessed · Stage 3 - Long-term transformation (when triggered; protect now) · Relevant to rapid transit
11 Frankton-Ladies Mile offline public transport
New Kawarau River crossing (road or offline PT).
Not assessed · Stage 3 - Long-term transformation (when triggered; protect now) · Relevant to rapid transit
12 New Kawarau River crossing (road or offline PT)
Southern Corridor capacity upgrades.
Not assessed · NZTA · Not stated (map item)
13 Southern Corridor capacity upgrades
Arthurs Point bridge (local road) shown in the sequencing map.
Not assessed · Shown with Stage 1 marker (asterisk)
Network-wide: incremental bus service improvements and travel demand management (ongoing).
Not assessed · Ongoing
Incremental bus service improvements (ongoing); Travel demand management (ongoing)
Network-wide: walking, cycling and first/last-mile access improvements and optimisation of signalised intersections.
Not assessed · Stage 2 - Incremental capacity
Walking, cycling and first/last mile access improvements (Stage 2 - incremental capacity)
Network-wide: time of use charging scheme.
Not assessed · Stage 2 - Incremental capacity
Time of Use Charging Scheme (Stage 2 - incremental capacity)
Protect corridors for future high-capacity transit now; advance business cases and explore funding/financing for Stage 3 major interventions.
Not assessed · Stage 3 - when triggered; protect now · Relevant to rapid transit
Protect corridors; advance business cases and explore funding / financing options
Take the first tranche of implementation activities through the 2027-2030 RLTP and NLTP processes (via State Highway Investment Proposal).
Not assessed · NZTA · 2027-2030
Take first tranche of implementation activities through 2027-2030 RLTP and NLTP processes
Advance investigations for Ladies Mile, Southern Corridor, offline PT and time-of-use charging.
Not assessed · NZTA · Next stage (not dated) · Relevant to rapid transit
Agree partner leads, funding shares and delivery pathway through Way to Go, RLTP and Regional Deal workstreams.
Not assessed · Way to Go
Track demand, network performance and growth; programme activities as context dictates.
Not assessed · NZTA · Ongoing
Track demand, network performance, growth delivery opportunities
Study cost
A study cost has been requested under the Official Information Act or LGOIMA. No figure has been received.
Citation
NZTA (Waka Kotahi). Queenstown Strategic Network Plan – Emerging Direction (Otago Regional Council Briefing, 15 July 2026) (2026).